Biopsy and Birthday

I was so glad to be back to our home sweet home but at the same time anxious about the biopsy results. The day after I got discharged, my husband went back to the hospital and got the biopsy results. The diagnosis was that it was either Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma or Thymoma (my further research reveals that both are types of cancer) and with a note that Immunohistochemical staining tests were needed (in order to determine specific type of cancer).

Along with the biopsy results, we also got the other test results, the CT-scan showed the mediastinal mass on my chest had a size of 8.4 x 9.4 x 9.7 cm  (AP x W x L). The x-ray film showed that the mass was almost as large as my heart. The 2D echo results also showed that in addition to the pericardial effusion (fluid around the heart), I also had pulmonary stenosis or the condition wherein one of my heart valves is not able to function properly because it is being pressed upon by the large mass. On the positive side my blood chemistry results showed normal cholesterol levels. In my previous Annual Physical Exam tests, this is the one area where I usually cringe at and now it seemed to be such a small thing compared to what was unfolding …

Luckily my birthday helped to distract me from over thinking. After hearing Sunday morning mass, we went to Tagaytay (a place known for its’ cool breeze and delicious home cooked meals) and had a yummy brunch. Before heading home, we dropped by the mall to get myself some birthday presents, of course.  Heading back home, I noticed that my husband was driving faster than usual so I was a little bit agitated and asked him to drive slower. When we got home, I noticed that there were a lot of cars parked near our place and I thought that there was a party at one of the neighbors. When I got inside the house, to my surprise, there was a surprise party for me!  My immediate family members and close friends were all there!  Now I know why my husband was driving fast, they have been there waiting since lunch time and it was almost 2PM already! Anyhow, it was a very sweet surprise and this was another first for me and thanks to my dear husband & sweet kiddos. They were planning this all along while I was still confined at the hospital and I didn’t had a clue!

I got all sorts of well wishes especially since they were already aware that I have cancer (just waiting to know which one). It was heartbreaking for me to see my grandmother, mother, mother-in-law and those close to me to look so pained and concerned, even more heart-breaking than finding out I have cancer. I have never felt more loved…

bday2016

Leave a comment